Home Page
Download the NOMAA Handbook of Accrediation
Commissioners & Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
 Links and resources
Contact Us
National Oriental Medicine Accreditation Agency (NOMAA) establishes entry-level doctorate accreditation standards for independent primary health care practitioners of oriental and Chinese medicine. In the East Asian nations of China, Taiwan, and Korea, where Oriental Medicine has equal status with "western" medicine, five to six year programs are invariably a prerequisite to license doctors of "Traditional Chinese Medicine" or "Korean Oriental Medicine." In the United States, Oriental Medicine is the only form of primary healthcare that has not yet established or required entry-level doctorate education. NOMAA is filling this void.

As patient visits to Oriental Medicine practitioners increases, the risk of malpractice by commission and/or ommission will also increase, and qualitative and quantitative improvements are needed in the educational standards under which institutions that offer such programs. Most Oriental Medical practitioner professional associations have determined that increases in education and accreditation standards are needed for competent, safe and effective delivery of primary care.

NOMAA accreditation standards address : (1) increase in number of hours required (didactic & clinical internship) for graduation from a Doctorate level program; (2) integrated education of Oriental & Western medical sciences; (3) national competency exams.

NOMAA standards are intended to improve the quality of education that will lead to an increase in the quality of patient care. NOMAA representatives have been in contact with the U.S. Dept. of Education, in order to determine the most expedient and proper method to obtain official "recognition" of NOMAA as the accreditation agency establishing doctorate-level training standards for Oriental Medicine.

� Copyright 2007 NOMAA.org